Published on

  El Presidente
Thy Womb

MMFF 2012 Gabi ng Parangal

MANILA – The star-studded 38th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF 2012) Awards Night was held on December 27th at the Meralco Theater in Pasig City.

Nora Aunor won the Best Actress trophy for her role in Thy Womb while Dingdong Dantes was named Best Actor for the movie, One More Try. This is Dantes’ second consecutive year as best actor; he

was 2011 Festival Best Actor for Segunda Mano. Brillante Mendoza won Best Director for Thy Womb. The best theme song was awarded to Black Eyed Peas’ and Jamir Garcia of Slapshock for their work on the movie, El Presidente.

Three films – Thy Womb, El Presidente and One More Try shared most of the awards. Kris Aquino and KC Concepcion emceed the event.

The major winners of the 2012 MMFF:

  • Best Actress: Nora Aunor, Thy Womb
  • Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes, One More Try
  • Best Picture: One More Try
  • 2nd Best Picture: El Presidente
  • 3rd Best Picture: “Sisterakas”
  • Best Director: Brillante Mendoza, Thy Womb
  • Best Screenplay: Anna Ramos, One More Try
  • Best Original Story: Henry Burgos, Thy Womb
  • Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesnt, Sisterakas
  • Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano, El Presidente
  • Best Child Star: Miguel Vergara, One More Try
  • Best Cinematography: Odyssey Flores, “Thy Womb”
  • Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza, “Thy Womb”
  • Best Theme Song: and Jamir Garcia of Slapshock, “El Presidente”