Published on

PCCM welcomes Mayor Gillingham

and elected city officials


L-r: Perla Javate, School Trustee Ward 6; Dante Aviso, School Trustee Ward 5; Councillor Vivian Santos, Point Douglas Ward; Mayor Scott Gillingham, and Ann Evangelista, School Trustee Ward 9. Story on p15. Photo by Rey-Ar Reyes

On November 25, the Philippine Canadian Centre of Manitoba (PCCM) and the Filipino Inter-Church Fellowship Winnipeg (FICFW) held a Dedication Service to welcome the newly elected city officials headed by Mayor Scott Gillingham, and the School Trustees namely: Dante Aviso (Ward 5), Perla Javate (Ward 6) and Ann Evangelista (Ward 9). Re-elected Councillor Vivian Santos (Point Douglas Ward) also graced the occasion.

PCCM President Virgie Gayot extended the welcome to the elected city officials on behalf of the Filipino Canadian community offering goodwill and cooperation as they fulfill their mandate to serve Winnipeg. This was cordially reciprocated by the messages from the guests.

The dedication prayer was led by FICFW. Musical highlights were provided by musicians Paolo Camus (violin) and Jett Panganiban (piano) who opened the program with Morning Has Broken; vocalists Khristine Torres and Jobz Torres delighted the guests with their rendition of The Prayer.