Published on

Life of Canadian PI by Ethel Clemente Fernandez

Filipino Engineers’ chapter announces
2020 annual general meeting

by Ethel Clemente Fernandez

    FMC 2019 2020 Officers
FMC 2019-2020 Officers

The Filipino Members Chapter-Engineers’ Geoscientists Manitoba (FMC-EGM) will hold its ninth annual general meeting (AGM) on Saturday, February 29, at 1:00 p.m. at Canad Inns Destination Centre, 1824 Pembina Highway.

Current chapter chair, Jun Tapia, will present the annual report to the members and guests on the chapter’s activities, accomplishments and future plans. The chapter’s treasurer, Christopher Basilio, will go over the financial statements.

A new set of four (4) newly-elected officers will also be presented during the AGM, a result of an online election. They will join the second-term officers, Roy San Buenaventura, Norman Padilla, Bless Ramos and Allen Samson. Four (4) outgoing officers, Ray Sator, Nonie Generoso, Michael Villanueva and Christopher Basilio will be acknowledged and presented with tokens of appreciation for their service to the chapter.

Professional Development seminars will immediately follow after the AGM, where attendees will hear from speakers on current trends and topics that are of mostly relevant to engineers but may also be of interest to the general public. The chapter invited Mr. Jeff Miller to speak about the Whiteshell Reactor 1 - Decommisioning Project, while current chapter treasurer, Christopher Basilio, will present Electrical Vehicle 101 and Myths.

The chapter invites everyone to attend this two-in-one event. Register online through

Ethel Clemente-Fernandez is a professional engineer registered in the province of Manitoba. She is an active member of the Filipino Members Chapter - Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Manitoba (FMC-APEGM).